Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Home > News > WhatsApp finally rolls-out feature that lets you unsend embarrassing messages

WhatsApp finally rolls-out feature that lets you unsend embarrassing messages


* To unsend a message, open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete. Tap and hold the message, then choose Delete from the menu. 

* Messages will be replaced with: ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats.

* The feature is already rolling out to users around the world.


After several months of anticipation, a new feature that lets you unsend and delete messages on WhatsApp is finally rolling out to all users.

The new feature which will be available as part of the latest update, will allow you unsend an embarrassing photo or text within 7 minutes, provided the recipient also has the latest version of the app installed on their device.

Delete for everyone, so users can unsend messages
WhatsApp new feature demonstrated in the photo allows users to unsend messages within 7 minutes (Credit: WABetaInfo)

The Facebook-owned messaging company has updated its Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page to explain the new delete for everyone feature. It reads: “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat.This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.”

“To delete a message: open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete. Tap and hold the message, then choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.Tap ‘Delete for everyone’ and the message will disappear.”

Read also: WhatsApp users may soon be able to make conference voice and video call

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats.

WhatsApp also warned that even though you may have successfully deleted a message, the recipient may have seen it before you delete it. Again, should the message recall function fail to work properly, the sender will not be notified.

Notification area
The recall feature as seen in Android notification area (Credit: WABetaInfo)

 

The feature was first spotted by WhatsApp insider, WABetaInfo. A handful of users have since gone on Twitter to share screenshots of the feature at work on their devices.

Share this article with your friends
Akin A
A MUFC fan with serious love for gadgets and all things tech. Not the movie-loving type, more like the kinda guy you'll see with a PS4 controller. I like good music - any type, as long as it sounds good. Oh and I'm a very picky eater too. Apart from science and tech, I follow all kinda stuff in politics, sports, business and entrepreneurship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.