* Facebook verification prompt asks users to upload a clear photo of their face
* The company has faced criticism for the way it was used to spread fake news and propaganda during the US election
* Facebook claims once verification is complete the pictures are automatically deleted from its servers.
In its effort to eradicate fake and bot-controlled accounts, a new report has suggested that Facebook may ask you to upload a ‘clear’ photo of your face. The social network has faced criticism over the way it was used to spread fake news and propaganda ahead of the 2016 US election and the UK-EU referendum.
A Facebook spokesperson also told MailOnline that: “When our system detects suspicious activity, we may ask for the account owner to prove she or he is a real person.
“One way we do this is to ask account owner to upload a picture of himself or herself, which we’ll check and then permanently delete from our servers.”
There have been reports, including posts on Reddit (like below) about users getting locked out of their accounts until the verification check is done
According to Wired users have been receiving the prompt to authenticate their accounts since April, however, it is not clear when the company intends to roll out the feature globally